Help a Noob

Please post here if you have problems in using Wing FTP Server.

Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:58 am

okay so yes i have looked in the support forums for a solution to my issues with no resolve at this point, i have seen a couple things that where similar and i think it has somthing to do with this pasv thing.

to my knowledge i have done everything in the guide, i have forwarded all th posrts in my router i tried useing the "fixed" ip option i then tried to use the "web lookup" option or w/e its called. and no matter what i do i can not get an outside connection to come in. if i use it over my lan it works perfectly.

i am probably missing somthing but i am very new to this and i want to set it up so my fam can connect and just download directly from my machine.

i am useing winFTP version 2.20. my modem is one of those "all in one things" its a actiontec pk5000 given to me by Qwest ISP.

please help me, also please tell me if i need to give more info i would be glad to. thanks in advance everyone.

oh also i have disabled all firewalls on router and computer and disabled all antivirus/malware programs on the unit as well
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby FTP » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:18 am

First I suggest you upgrade to Wing FTP Server 3.x, it is more powerful than WinFTP 2.x.

Then please paste some server logs here.
FTP
Site Admin
 
posts 1216
 
joined Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:59 pm

im sorry as much as would would like to upgrade to the newest versio i dont have the funds. this is all thats in the log fro the server.


2010-08-10 09:37:57 - Getting IP address from remote web server...
2010-08-10 09:37:57 - Downloading webpage...
2010-08-10 09:37:57 - Parsing HTML...
2010-08-10 09:37:57 - Found address: 97.000.00.000
2010-08-10 09:38:06 - FTP Server On-line: IP 192.168.0.2 on port 21.
2010-08-10 09:38:06 - FTP Server On-line: IP 127.0.0.1 on port 21.
2010-08-10 09:40:57 - Getting IP address from remote web server...
2010-08-10 09:40:57 - Downloading webpage...
2010-08-10 09:40:57 - Parsing HTML...
2010-08-10 09:40:57 - Found address: 97.000.00.000
2010-08-10 09:43:57 - Getting IP address from remote web server...
2010-08-10 09:43:57 - Downloading webpage...
2010-08-10 09:43:57 - Parsing HTML...
2010-08-10 09:43:57 - Found address: 97.000.00.000
2010-08-10 09:46:57 - Getting IP address from remote web server...
2010-08-10 09:46:57 - Downloading webpage...
2010-08-10 09:46:57 - Parsing HTML...
2010-08-10 09:46:57 - Found address: 97.000.00.000


the client just does this

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:42:37)]...
ERROR:> Cannot connect target, processing next attemption...

STATUS:> Waiting 1 seconds for try again...

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:42:59)]...
ERROR:> Cannot connect target, processing next attemption...

STATUS:> Waiting 1 seconds for try again...

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:43:21)]...
ERROR:> Connect target failed, disconnect.

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:45:08)]...
ERROR:> Cannot connect target, processing next attemption...

STATUS:> Waiting 1 seconds for try again...

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:45:30)]...
ERROR:> Cannot connect target, processing next attemption...

STATUS:> Waiting 1 seconds for try again...

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:45:52)]...
ERROR:> Connect target failed, disconnect.


Obviously the 97.000.00.000 is not my real ip addres but it is consistant in the form. all the numbers match in the log i quaddroople checked. also the client i am useings is the winftp client.
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby FTP » Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:04 am

It seems you can't connect from outside, please make sure you have put your server on the internet, and forwarded port 21 correctly to outside.
FTP
Site Admin
 
posts 1216
 
joined Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:43 pm

lolz, i'v gathered that much. that is why i am asking for help here. there is no other way that i can see to put the server "on the internet" other than clicking the big button in the upper left hadn corner that says "online" apart from that i know of no other way to make the server "on the internet" so if i am missing somthing please tell. and as far as forwarding port 21 i have done so in udp and tcp i have no other options in my router.
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby FTP » Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:31 pm

From your server log, I never see any clients connected to your server.

For verifying whether you have forwarded ports correctly, just do this command: telnet YourIP 21
FTP
Site Admin
 
posts 1216
 
joined Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:02 am

im not quite sure what to due. i uninstalled my version and am now trying everything on the newest version of your software. i am running the 30 day trial, to still no avail. i think i understood your command properly this is what it told me.

lua>> telnet 97.xxx.xx.xxx 21
some error in [string "telnet 97.xxx.xx.xxx 21"]:1: malformed number near '97.xxx.xx.xxx'!

lua>> command: telnet 97.xxx.xx.xxx 21
some error in [string "command: telnet 97.xx.xx.xxx 21"]:1: malformed number near '97.xxx.xx.xxx'!

i dont hink i have done the command correctly. also i have never used this version of the software before, it seems to be less user friendly so that even more of a crutch to me.

well any help is welcome and thank you for the ones that have posted so far. really hope i get this working.

P.S although you didnt see anyone connecting to the server that time i am and was able to connect to the server via my lan. its just the internet connection i am haveing an issue with not working at all.
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:14 am

also i just wanted to show you this is what is says when i connect via lan. through a web browser or ftp client.

[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:42 Domain has been started.
[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:43 FTP server starts listening on port 21. IP 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.2
[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:43 FTPS server starts listening on port 990. IP 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.2
[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:43 HTTP server starts listening on port 80. IP 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.2
[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:43 HTTPS server starts listening on port 443. IP 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.2
[01] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:41:43 SFTP(SSH) server starts listening on port 22. IP 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.2
[06] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 20:07:49 (0000000) User 'acecom' login failed! (IP:192.168.0.2)
[06] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 20:07:58 (0000000) User 'acecom' login failed! (IP:192.168.0.2)
[06] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 20:08:08 (0000001) User 'acecom12' logged in ok! (IP:192.168.0.2)
[05] Wed, 11 Aug 2010 20:08:08 (0000001) List ok

when i try to go through a browser or client to get to it from my "outside" or "real" IP my 97.xxx.xx.xxx it just hangs then says IE cant display the page check for solutions blah bla hblah the client says this.

STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server[97.000.00.000(2010-08-10 09:42:37)]...
ERROR:> Cannot connect target, processing next attemption...

STATUS:> Waiting 1 seconds for try again...
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby FTP » Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:36 am

First, I just let you use "cmd.exe" to execute command "telnet yourIP 21", not Wing FTP.
And from your last logs, I can say you have not forwarded port 80, 21... on your modem correctly. I haven't used this modem "pk5000", so please see the product manual or search the google, how to forward the port to the internet?
FTP
Site Admin
 
posts 1216
 
joined Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Help a Noob

Postby Acecom » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:25 pm

for anyone that may be reading this forum the "telnet" command for the command prompt in windows is no longer "automatically" enabled with windows vista and 7 OS's you must enable the feature for this to work.

In anycase i did the command and it told me that it could not connect to my ip on that port via port 21 or 80. which would lead me to believe that i in fact did not forward the ports correctly in my router/modem. However, i did double check the "guid" on how to properly forward the ports for my particulare unit and i have done them correctly. i even checked this website. "http://www.canyouseeme.org/" and it was able to see or talk to my computer through both ports.

still in a deep hole here. also i seen that i have NAT enabled but i have no firewalls up at ALL was wondering if that has anything to do with the problem. so i disabled it. then my modem wouldnt even connect to the internet so i am forced to have in enabled unless i wanted to set my entire connection up manually in which i dont even know if that would work nore do i have the proper info for running static ip's with all gateway info and what not.

also what is the passv port range supposed to be set at?
Acecom
 
posts 6
 
joined Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:44 am

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests